What are Move Over Laws?
According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), Move Over Laws require the following:
When a vehicle with flashing lights is stopped on or next to a roadway, drivers approaching the vehicle should:
- Change into a lane not immediately adjacent to the vehicle; or
- Slow down to a reasonable speed if unable to safely make a lane change.
Texas established its first Move Over Law in 2003. The 2003 law applied to law enforcement, fire and emergency services vehicles. The Texas Move Over Law later expanded to include TxDOT vehicles and their workers.
Why Did Texas Establish a Move Over Law?
Texas established a Move Over Law to reduce the number of law enforcement, first responders, road maintenance crew, and others who are killed in car crashes every year.
What Does the New Texas Move Over or Slow Down Law Require?
Updates to the Texas Move Over or Slow Down Law can be found in the Texas Transportation Code, Section 545.157. The revised law requires all motorists to exit the lane closest to the following when they can do so safely and legally:
- A wrecked or disabled vehicle;
- Stopped emergency vehicle;
- Tow truck or law enforcement vehicle; and
- TxDOT road construction and repair crews.
Drivers who cannot safely change lanes must slow down to 20 miles per hour below the speed limit. If the speed limit is below 25 miles per hour, drivers must reduce their speed to five miles per hour.
Penalties for Violating the New Texas Move Over or Slow Down Law
Violating the new Texas Move Over or Slow Down Law can be costly for drivers. The fines have increased dramatically since 2003.
There are fines of up to $1,250 for first-time offenders. Those who cause serious injuries may face jail time and a fine of up to $4,000.
Tips to Move Over or Slow Down in Texas
There are tips you can follow to help keep yourself and those working along the roadside safe when driving Texas highways and interstates.
- Slowing down immediately, even if you cannot change lanes right away;
- Use your turn signal to indicate the intent to merge;
- Stay alert behind the wheel; and
- Move over to the right for emergency vehicles with flashing lights when being approached from behind.
Following these simple rules could save your life or the lives of others.
Were You Injured in a Move Over Accident?
If you or someone you love were injured due to a driver’s failure to move over, you may qualify to file a personal injury lawsuit. A personal injury lawsuit may pay for your medical expenses, lost wages, and more.
Contact a personal injury attorney in Dallas to find out your legal options.
Contact an Experienced Dallas Personal Injury Attorney Today
Texas has Move Over and Slow Down laws to protect those first responders, construction workers, and those who are injured in accidents. If someone neglected to follow these laws and injured you or your loved one, a Dallas personal injury attorney at Mathias Raphael PLLC Accident & Injury Lawyers may be able to help.
For more than a decade, Mathias Raphael PLLC Accident & Injury Lawyers has put the best interests of our clients first. We dedicate our time and resources to ensuring you have the best legal representation and the strongest case possible to win your personal injury claim.
Call Mathias Raphael PLLC Accident & Injury Lawyers in Dallas today to schedule your no-cost consultation. There are no out-of-pocket fees for our services. We only get paid when we win compensation for you!